Friday, April 19, 2019

Blog Blab

Vulture Festival March 5th in Wenonah, NJ

February 21st, 2011

www.eastcoastvulturefestival.org

Vulture View Fans, this just in, from Scott Barnes at the Wenonah Environmental Commission:

“…the 6th edition of the East Coast Vulture Festival will be held as usual on the first Saturday in March. Even though the Evening Roost event is on hiatus this year, there are still plenty of fun and educational activities in store for our afternoon Children’s Fair, held from 2pm to 5 pm.

The central gathering point this year will be the Wenonah Community Center, the wonderfully renovated train station right in the middle of town on Mantua Avenue. While there, you can explore games, crafts, and educational displays. Our ever-popular Vulture Store will feature plush toys and other nature-themed merchandise. And from 2 to 4 PM, you can watch live animal demonstrations such as hawks, owls, turtles, and snakes, presented by our friends from the Woodford Cedar Run Wildlife Refuge.”

Vulture View

Signing of Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010

December 13th, 2010


I’m watching the live streaming at whitehouse.gov of the signing of this important bill. Hurray for all those working to reform school lunches and make them healthier. I’m so glad that Michelle Obama has taken on childhood obesity as a major issue for her work as first lady. As many of you know, I’ve been concerned about this issue for years.

Read more »

Hooray for Hoppers!

November 27th, 2010

While cleaning out my files, I found a magazine clipping about grasshoppers,, “Hooray for Hoppers,” by Diane Swanson, Ranger Rick magazine.  I love Ranger Rick. It’s such an inspiring resource, a perfect monthly gift for the curious kid.  The article says “An average grasshopper can jump a distance 20 times its length. Humans can jump only about five times their length…”

I can imagine educators coming up with some great activities related to these facts. Those activities might go along with my new book, released in February, IF YOU’RE HOPPY, illustrated by Jackie Urbanovic, published by Greenwillow.

Education Student University Presentation

October 19th, 2010

Education student Jamie Steigerwalt recently wrote to me about what she presented in class as part of an author/book study. With her permission, I’m reprinting it here.

I just wanted to send you a quick note to let you know how my presentation went last night. Everything went well and my class was very excited to hear about you.  I must admit, it was so easy to talk about you and your books.  I chose to do my activities on Hush Little Puppy, Stars Beneath Your Bed, and Splish, Splash, Animal Baths.  I did a phonics activity with Hush Little Puppy and focused on rhyming.  

Read more »

Children’s Book Author/Illustrator Links

May 8th, 2010

More author sites for you to investigate:

Amy Timberlake http://www.amytimberlake.com
April Halprin Wayland http://www.TeachingAuthors.com
Alison James http://www.JAlisonJames.com
April Pulley Sayre http://www.aprilsayre.com
Ashley Formento http://www.alisonashleyformento.com
Alvina Ling http://bloomabilities.blogspot.com
Anne Broyles http://www.annebroyles.com
Anne Ylvisaker http://www.anneylvisaker.com
Barbara Garrison www.barbaragarrison.com
Betsy James http://www.betsyjames.com
Bill Crider http://www.billcrider.com
Christine Taylor Butler http://www.ChristineTaylorButler.com
Carmen Bernier Grand www.carmenberniergrand.com
Diane Greenseid http://www.dianegreenseid.com
Debby Dahl Edwardson http://www.debbydahledwardson.com
Elizabeth Winthrop http://elizabethwinthrop.com
Elizabeth Raum www.elizabethraum.net
Elizabeth O. Dulemba http://dulemba.com
Erin Eitter Kono http://www.eekono.com
Hope Vestergaard http://www.hopevestergaard.com
Joy Allen http://joyallensblog.blogspot.com
Jennifer J. Stewart http://www.jenniferjstewart.com
Janie Bynum http://www.janiebynum.com
Jane Naliboff www.janenaliboff.com
Katie Davis http://www.katiedavisblog.com
Kim Norman http://www.kimnormanbooks.com
Karen Romano Young www.karenromanoyoung.com
Lee Wardlaw http://www.leewardlaw.com
Lisa Harkrader www.ldharkrader.com
Laya Steinberg http://www.layasteinberg.com
Louise Hawes http://www.louisehawes.com
Marsha Skrypuch http://www.calla.com
Mary dePalma http://www.marynewelldepalma.com
Nancy Bo Flood www.nancyboflood.com
Philomena O’Neill www.philomenaoneill.com
Peni Griffin http://penigriffin.blogspot.com
Phillis Gershator http://www.phillisgershator.com
Rebecca Thornburgh http://www.rebeccathornburgh.com
Ruth McNally Barshaw http://www.ruthexpress.com
Sarah Dillard http://www.sarahdillard.blogspot.com
Sarah Darer Littman http://sarahdarerlittman.com
Sharon Vargo http://sharonvargo.blogspot.com
Sheila Bailey http://home.teleport.com/~northpaw
Tanya Lee Stone http://www.tanyastone.com
Val Hobbs www.valeriehobbswritingforlife.blogspot.com
Wendy Lichtman http://www.wendylichtman.com

Turtle, Turtle, Watch Out!

February 2nd, 2010

Just out (Feb 2010) is my  brand new book based on an old favorite. Turtle, Turtle, Watch Out! has new layers in the main text, new endmatter on multiple species, and new illustrations by Annie Patterson. I was able to incorporate turtle behaviors I witnessed recently. Hooray for Charlesbridge for making this book even better than the previous one. This book is featured in NSTA’s Picture Perfect Science Lessons by Ansberry and Morgan, two crackerjack presenters.

It was recently featured as a book of the week at the wonderful CCBC, Cooperature Children’s Book Center. Hurray!

Books for Autistic Students

February 2nd, 2010

ALA librarians called on collective wisdom to assemble a list of books great for use with autistic students, in this case, 7th graders. The list included Ant, Ant, Ant: An Insect Chant (illus by Park) ; Trout, Trout, Trout: a Fish Chant (illus by Park) , and Bird, Bird, Bird: a Chirping Chant (illus by Locke).   The list is here:  http://connect.ala.org/node/93738

United Through Reading

January 21st, 2010

For 20  years United Through Reading has been bringing families together by having parents and grandparents read books on tape and DVD so their child can see/hear their parent sharing something good. This program helps incarcerated parents, military parents, and grandparents who live far away from their children. What a cool program! I found it because a google alert told me that Vulture View was on their recommended list. Hooray for all that United Through Reading does!

http://www.unitedthroughreading.org/about/greattransitionalbooks_justthefacts.php

Coleen Salley honored in the Princess and Frog movie

January 7th, 2010

Look through the credits for the Princess and the Frog movie (Disney) and you’ll see a big credit to our beloved Coleen Salley, New Orleans storyteller and great cheerleader for children’s books,  including nonfiction read alouds. We miss Coleen! But check out Mama Odie, a character in the movie. You’ll see some of Coleen’s spirit and way of talking, for sure!

About Me
April Sayre

April Pulley Sayre is a photo-illustrator and award-winning author of over 65 books including Bloom Boom, Warbler Wave, Full of Fall, and Thank You, Earth.  Her read aloud picture books, known for their lyricism, playful voice, and scientific precision, have been translated into Korean, French, Dutch, Japanese, Chinese, and Arabic. Sayre’s ten photo-illustrated books include the classic Rah, Rah, Radishes and Raindrops Roll, which was both an ALA Notable and a NCTE Orbis Pictus Honor Book. Best in Snow received four starred reviews and was on many 2016 best book lists.  Learn more…



Tags

Search Site

April Sayre store logo

View Archives

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This